Article provided by: Kohn & Yager, LLC
Every state of the US has a different law about the regulation of cannabis. Each has its penalty and legality. While states have legalized the use of cannabis, some are still imposing strict laws on regulating cannabis, such as Georgia's state.
So, what does the law regarding cannabis says in the state of Georgia? This southern state is quite strict and conservative when it comes to regulating cannabis. Under its statutes, recreational cannabis is illegal. So, possession, selling, cultivating, and trafficking cannabis or marijuana will penalize you with jail time or a fine.
Criminal Defense Matters
Our criminal defense lawyers are professionals, experts in the field, and each with specializations. If you're looking for a lawyer when faced with criminal charges, then our team is the right choice for you. With years of experience, extensive knowledge, the best clientele relationship, and a great defense approach, we can guarantee you that we have your best interest at heart.
Ga Dui and Marijuana
As mentioned earlier, in Georgia, recreational cannabis is against the law. However, the law had eased a bit when it decriminalized marijuana possession in some cities of Georgia. So, some will penalize you with a fine instead of facing jail time if you have less than an ounce of marijuana.
So, what about DUI? Under Georgia law, DUI drugs are worse than when you get convicted for DUI Alcohol. DUI is when you're driving under the influence of drugs while in control of the vehicle. Even when you're using marijuana for medical purposes, you can still be charged with DUI drugs since medicinal cannabis is illegal.
Penalties for DUI vary upon the type of DUI charge. It can also depend if you already had prior misconduct with a similar scenario. And since this is worse than DUI alcohol, you can expect that the consequence will be harsher.
The consequences include paying a fine, mandatory drug screening and treatment (if necessary), community service, probation, DUI classes, and suspension of your driver's license for a minimum of 6 months. It will depend on how many times you have committed the offense.
When to Get A Defense Attorney
When you find yourself committing or getting involved in cases like DUI, the police and prosecutors will find a way to file against you. While that cannot be avoided, your only way is to get a top-notch DUI lawyer who will help you with this case.
Our firm's lawyers are available 24 hours a day to provide their service and assist you. We have acquired various strategic defense approaches from our vast expanse of knowledge and experience that makes us the expert of Georgia's DUI law. We can offer our services, and we'll provide you with our seasoned lawyers to help you so that any sentence you received will be reduced, and you can avoid having your license suspended.
We have helped numerous clients, especially those who were wrongfully charged with DUI. If you want to get the best result and outcome, our criminal attorneys will give you the best representation. Schedule a free consultation with us so we can discuss the details of your DUI case.Is Weed Legal In Georgia
View Larger Map